Nominations

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

Subcommittee on Nominations

2025-2026

Goal: To ratify slate of Officers, to nominate an individual for Secretary/Treasurer, to renew or replace incumbents whose terms on the Executive Committee are expiring and to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee.

Chair

Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board

Members

Margo Bellamy, Anchorage School Board Kimberly Martorano, Des Moines School Board Warren Morgan, Cleveland CEO Michael O'Neill, Boston School Committee Tony Watlington, Philadelphia Superintendent Stacy Woolley, Tulsa School Board

COUNCIL OF THE GREAT CITY SCHOOLS

Nominations

The Chair of the Board forwards the following nominations to fill vacancies on the Executive Committee of the Council of the Great City Schools.

Officers FY 2025-26

| 1) | Be it resolved: That Sonja Santelises (Baltimore CEO) serve as Chair of the Board beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2026. |
|----|--|
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 2) | Be it resolved: That Valerie Davis (Fresno School Board) serve as Chair-Elect of the Board beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2026. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved() Not Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 3) | Be it resolved: That Jill Baker (Long Beach Superintendent) serve as Secretary/Treasurer of the Board beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2026. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |

| 4) | Be it resolved: That Marcia Andrews (Palm Beach County School Board) serve as Immediate Past Chair of the Board beginning July 1, 2025 and ending June 30, 2026. |
|----|--|
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| | Vacancies |
| 1) | Be it resolved: That Sara Elaqad (Cleveland School Board) serve the unexpired term of Rodney Jordan (Norfolk School Board), whose term was set to expire June 30, 2026. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 2) | Be it resolved: That Deanna Kaplan (Winston-Salem/Forsyth County School Board) serve the unexpired term of Jenny Lam (San Francisco School Board), whose term was set to expire June 30, 2026. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 3) | Be it resolved: That Joe Gothard (Madison Superintendent) serve the unexpired term of Martin Pollio (Jefferson County Superintendent) whose term was set to expire June 30, 2027. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved |

| | () Not Approved | | | | | |
|----|--|--|--|--|--|--|
| | AFFIRMED | | | | | |
| | Chair of the Board | | | | | |
| 4) | Be it resolved: That Matias Segura (Austin Superintendent) serve the unexpired term of Jill Baker (Long Beach School Board), whose term was set to expire June 30, 2026. | | | | | |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved | | | | | |
| | AFFIRMED | | | | | |
| | Chair of the Board | | | | | |
| | Renewal of Terms | | | | | |
| 1) | Be it resolved: That Lewis Ferebee (DCPS Chancellor) serve a second three-year term from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2028. | | | | | |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE () Approved () Not Approved | | | | | |
| | AFFIRMED | | | | | |
| | Chair of the Board | | | | | |
| 2) | Be it resolved: That Alex Marrero (Denver Superintendent) serve a first three-year term from July 2025 through June 30, 2028. | | | | | |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE | | | | | |
| | () Approved | | | | | |
| | () Not Approved | | | | | |
| | AFFIRMED | | | | | |
| | Chair of the Board | | | | | |

| 3) | 2025 through June 30, 2028. |
|----|--|
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 4) | Be it resolved: That Darryl Willie (Duval County School Board Member) serve a first three-year |
| | term from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2028. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 5) | Be it resolved: That Stacey Woolley (Tulsa School Board Member) serve a first three-year term |
| | from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2028. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |
| 6) | Be it resolved: That Joyce Wilkerson (Philadelphia School Board Member) serve a second three- |
| | year term from July 1, 2025 through June 30, 2028. |
| | ACTION BY COMMITTEE |
| | () Approved |
| | () Not Approved |
| | AFFIRMED |
| | Chair of the Board |

Composition of Executive Committee March 2025*

| Region | Male | Female | Board | Supt | Black | Hispanic | White | AAPI/ Other | Totals |
|-----------|------|--------|-------|------|-------|----------|-------|----------------|--------|
| East | 3 | 2 | 2 | 3 | 3 | 1 | 1 | | 5 |
| Southeast | 2 | 2 | 2 | 2 | 3 | | 1 | | 4 |
| Midwest | 2 | 5 | 3 | 4 | 2 | 4 | | 1 | 7 |
| West | | 6 | 4 | 2 | 2 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 6 |
| Totals | 7 | 15 | 11 | 11 | 10 | 6 | 4 | 2 | 22 |

^{*}does not reflect newly nominated members

APPOINTMENTS BY THE CHAIR, 2024-25 SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRS AND MEMBERS

Audit Subcommittee Chair: Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board Alex Marrero, Denver Superintendent Mary Skipper, Boston Superintendent

Bylaws Subcommittee Chair: Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent Rodney Jordan, Norfolk School Board Stacey Woolley, Tulsa School Board

Membership Subcommittee Chair: Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board Roger Leon, Newark Superintendent Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board

Ex Officio on Subcommittees: Marcia Andrews, Palm Beach County School Board

Task Forces

Achievement and Professional Development Task Force Chair: Jill Baker, Long Beach Superintendent Sabrina Bazzo, San Diego School Board Martin Pollio, Jefferson County Superintendent Sonja Santelises, Baltimore CEO Deborah Shanley, Brooklyn College

Bilingual Task Force
Chair: Jerry Almendarez, Santa Ana Superintendent
Lewis Ferebee, Washington D.C. Chancellor
Jenny Lam, San Francisco School Board
Christina Martinez, San Antonio School Board
Stacey Woolley, Tulsa School Board

Leadership, Governance, Management, and Finance Task Force Chair: Joyce Wilkerson, Philadelphia School Board Brandon Craig, Cincinnati School Board Valerie Davis, Fresno School Board Roger Leon, Newark Superintendent Mary Skipper, Boston Superintendent Task Force on Black and Latino Young Men and Boys Chair: Alex Marrero, Denver Superintendent Kyla Johnson-Trammel, Oakland Superintendent Rodney Jordan, Norfolk School Board Darryl Willie, Duval County School Board Margo Bellamy, Anchorage School Board

Task Force on Black and Latina Young Women and Girls Chair: Sharon Contreras, North Carolina Central University Stephanie Elizalde, Dallas Superintendent Kelly Gonez, Los Angeles School Board Shavonna Holman, Omaha School Board Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Superintendent